September: 23 For 30: Tyler Wallace

Photo Sep 25, 1 39 09 AM23Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“I don’t close my eyes very often on stage. I don’t know if it’s that I’m not the most sentimental of fellers or if it’s that I’ve played most of these songs so much, that I could do it in my sleep–which you would think would be a good time to close your eyes. But there are a few songs that I catch myself getting lost in a phrase and closing my eyes to sing. One such song is “To Love Me.” It’s the last track on our record Diesel Engines and Kerosene Visions. The second verse says “All of my life, I never crossed no lines, I just bent ’em ’til they looked like me. Then I showed ’em to my friends. I hid em in mixed company. I’m not who I was lord knows I’ve become estranged. Those who say that I’m different, well I think that your all the same.” Being a West Texas boy, going out into the big world, you spend a lot of time hiding a part of yourself from people who love you because you are afraid they just won’t understand. I think it is a sort of pressure that a lot of people from West Texas might feel–especially when they go back home and especially if they have the creative bone. Anyway, it’s one of the few songs we play that I feel is 100% true about myself, no sugar added. I close my eyes a lot when I sing it. Maybe I’m reminding myself who I am or maybe I’m just embarrassed to say it out loud.”

Tyler Wallace, Union Specific, songwriter

Listen to “To Love Me” from Union Specific’s album Diesel Engines and Kerosene Visions below. Like Union Specific on Facebook here and follow them on Twitter here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

