September: 17 For 30: Red Shahan

Photo Sep 02, 3 19 06 AM17Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“When I’m playing guitar and writing by myself, I rarely close my eyes and play. But when I do, I know it must mean something. The only time I’ve done it while writing a song was during “Broke Down Dreams.” It’s not my best nor is it my worst, but it’s the one that’s closest to home. I close my eyes a lot while I play live and it’s mostly due to insecurities, anxiety, or just sheer effort to remember lyrics. When I play that song, I know what it’s about and it’s a soothing comfort to embellish the moment live behind my eyelids. As Pablo Picasso once said, “To draw, you must close your eyes and sing.” To me, that’s a perfect example of the picture I try and paint in my head as I relive the experiences I saw my mother endure. Not only does she deserve a song to be wrote about her, but the comfort of knowing that everywhere I sing it, I sing it like the time I was writing it and in the moment.”

Red Shahan, songwriter

Listen to “Broke Down Dreams” from Shahan’s Red & The Vityls EP from 2012 below. Like Red Shahan on Facebook here and follow him on Twitter here.

2 responses to “September: 17 For 30: Red Shahan

  1. Pingback: 30 For 30: September | New Slang·

  2. Pingback: News: Stolen Gear Fund Show | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

