September: 16 For 30: Damon Dennis

DamonDennis16Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“Honestly man, I do a lot of eye closing. It keeps me in my head. I tend to be rather receptive to the vibes and the energy of the people around me. Sure, I’ll take a glance across the audience from time to time, but if I linger too long, I start feeling like I’m becoming the audience. Which is great unless you start forgetting that you’re the performer. I begin to watch myself as they watch me, start forgetting words and skipping chords and whatnot. Not a good situation. So, if you see me all wide-eyed during a performance, you know that I’m probably feeling better than I should be. That being said, I think at the heart of your question is a simpler less cool sounding one that reads: ‘Which song moves you the most?’ And I would have to say that for the moment, It’s a song I wrote a week or two after my friend Marcus Chapa passed away named Young Blood” that we’ve recently reinvented and revived after two years of its existence.”

Damon Dennis, Veda Moon, songwriter

Listen to “Sleepwalker” from Veda Moon’s debut EP, Yesterday’s Souls, below. Like Veda Moon on Facebook here.

One response to “September: 16 For 30: Damon Dennis

  1. Pingback: 30 For 30: September | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

