September 12 For 30: Charlie Shafter

CharlieShafter12Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“I rarely close my eyes when I’m playing a show. I usually look cross eyed at the end of the microphone. It’s that place where the cable meets the input of the mic. I seem to focus on that. My sister pointed that out years ago. There is no way to see it without crossing your eyes. It’s a safe area. On the rare occasion I do close my eyes, it’s usually some form of nostalgia creeping in. It could be any song really. I’ll remember some time, place, or person I was around when I wrote that song. You close your eyes and transport yourself back there. It is almost a form of time travel. You don’t have to be a songwriter to expierence that. I’m sure you’ve all had this experience. Lately, it’s been “Sea Wall” and I see my wife, my daughter, Starfire, his wife, Ray Wylie Hubbard, his wife, Gabriel Person, and George Reiff. I love those people.”

Charlie Shafter, songwriter

Listen to Shafter’s “Sea Wall” from the 2012 album Charlie Shafter below. Like Charlie Shafter on Facebook here and follow him on Twitter here

One response to “September 12 For 30: Charlie Shafter

  1. Pingback: 30 For 30: September | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

