September: 10 For 30: Anthony Garcia

Photo Sep 09, 9 17 33 AM11 - sIs8e1E

Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“I’d have to say my song “Apparitions (Mirror Tree),” I had thought about this question for a couple of days without coming up with an answer and we played this song the other night and I found myself literally closing my eyes. At the time I was writing it, I wasn’t sure of the meaning of the lyrics–and still am not for that matter–but when I play it, I find myself disappearing into it, or just leaving for a moment. You close your eyes, to use a cliché, because it’s a meditation, because it’s giving you something, because the song gives you something that feels good.”

Anthony Garcia, Outlier, songwriter

Listen to “Apparitions (Mirror Tree)” from the 2013 album Outlier below. Like Outlier on Facebook here.

 

3 responses to “September: 10 For 30: Anthony Garcia

  1. Pingback: 30 For 30: September | New Slang·

  2. Pingback: New Releases: Outlier | New Slang·

  3. Pingback: New Slang’s 2014 Panhandle Music Giveaway Contest | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

