September: 6 For 30: Heath Tolleson

HeathTolleson04 - SU3urDE

Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“To be honest, I guess I really don’t notice which songs conjure such a reaction. It’s a very intimate, vulnerable position to be in when music and lyric come together. You get lost and for the moment nothing else really seems to matter. Plus, I’ve never considered any song that I’ve ever composed to deserve such a sincere gesture. If anything I find that particular reaction to happen more with other artists work rather than my own. You can watch a crowd and just see and feel the connection that has been tapped and it’s different for everyone. I’m still a huge fan and I still want to be eager and soak up as much as possible. Any singer-songwriter that hasn’t tried to write their own “Ryan Adams” song to feel that connected response is full of shit! I have tried many times and failed measurably. So to answer your question, I guess when it’s comes to which songs pull at certain emotional strings it’s never my own work. When I close my eyes and sing someone else’s work, I want to relive that discovery. There’s a reason why we get connected to a particular song or melody and in my head I want to be that artist and find out why it’s so powerful. I want to sing to myself in a crowd the way that artist would and rediscovering that initial memory or moment and relive it over and over and over again.”

Heath Tolleson, The Goners, singer-songwriter

Listen to “Lighter Shade of Blue” from the debut EP, The Goners below. Like The Goners on Facebook here.

3 responses to “September: 6 For 30: Heath Tolleson

  1. Pingback: 30 For 30: September | New Slang·

  2. Pingback: News: Stolen Gear Fund Show | New Slang·

  3. Pingback: New Slang’s 2014 Panhandle Music Giveaway Contest | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

