September: 5 For 30: Danny Cadra

DannyCadra06 - HQ5d2Bl

Editor’s Note: We’re trying this again. Getting 30 artists to answer the same question. For the month of September–one for each day–we’ll be getting 30 Lubbock-West Texas singer-songwriters to answer the following question. For the complete list of September answers, click here.

Is there a song that you’ve written that you find yourself singing with your eyes closed more often than not when performed live? Why?

“Man, I’d have to say “When You Throw It Down.” Especially if I’m doing it by myself acoustically. That song still means so much to me and I was so frustrated and angry when I wrote it. When I play it acoustic, I play it exactly like I had it in my head those two hours when wrote it walking around outside. Once I had it finished in my head, I ran inside and put the guitar to it, closed my eyes, and sang it just like I heard it in my head when I wrote it. When I close my eyes while I sing it now, it takes me right back to the day I wrote it. Not so much for the full band version, though. The full band version has a completely different feel than how I originally wrote it. I always thought that artists having different versions of their own songs was cool. If I ever re-cut it, I think I’d do it just like I wrote it.”

Danny Cadra, singer-songwriter

Listen to “When You Throw It Down” from Cadra’s 2013 EP Danny Cadra below. Like Danny Cadra on Facebook here.

3 responses to “September: 5 For 30: Danny Cadra

  1. Pingback: 30 For 30: September | New Slang·

  2. Pingback: Blue Light Fall Singer-Songwriter Competition Announced | New Slang·

  3. Pingback: Blue Light Spring Singer-Songwriter Competition Announced | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

