Month of May 8 of 30: Tony Kamel of Wood & Wire

Print13 - G15E8qqby: Thomas D. Mooney
Editor-in-Chief

Every day for the entire month, we’ll be asking (and publishing) 31 musicians the same question. This month, the question is: You’re playing a show in which you’re covering an album from beginning to end. What record do you choose to interpret?

Day 8 for the Month of May is Tony Kamel of Wood & Wire.

For a complete list of other answers, find the main Month of May page here.

Wood & Wire released their self-titled debut album last year and currently working on their sophomore follow-up. Like Wood & Wire on Facebook here and follow them on Twitter here. Watch/Listen to “Coal Mining One” below.

LedZeppelinYou’re playing a show in which you’re covering an album from beginning to end. What record do you choose to interpret?

Before I answer, I want it noted that my answer to this question probably changes weekly. This week–and there have been many weeks in my life where I would have answered the same–it’s gonna be Led Zeppelin I.

How many records did you think about before going with Led Zeppelin I?

Honestly, I didn’t think about it too much. You caught me at a time where I was wearing this album out again. I do that every year or so. It’s incredible from start to finish and really shows where Led Zeppelin came from and how heavily the band was influenced by the blues. It’s so freakin’ bluesy! It’s a direct example of how the blues lead to rock and roll. There are a lot of bluegrass records I’d love to do, but where’s the fun in that? We basically do that every night already. If we were to do this thing, I’d want to make it crazy. 

What song do you think you’d be most intimidated by or have the most trouble covering?

“Communication Breakdown” is a tough song lyrically. A lot of words. Plus, it rocks so hard. Wow. 

Have you covered anything from the record before for a show?

None at all, but I’ve always thought “Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You” might make for an interesting interpretation by an acoustic band like us. It’s already acoustic, really. Plus, it’s so down home and dirty. Awesome.

It’d be really interesting seeing you guys reinterpret the album. What song do you think would go through the biggest transformation?

That’s just it. I don’t think Wood & Wire could interpret this album properly. If we did it, I envision doing it on Halloween or something where we’d just re-interpret our entire band. Put Trevor [Smith] on Keyboard (he was a classically trained piano player before he played banjo), get Dom [Fisher] back on electric bass (he’s an insane electric player. Insane), I’ll dust off my old electric guitar, and we’d hire a drummer friend of ours to play with us. That would be sick! A bluegrass band reformed as Led Zeppelin and doing that album from start to finish?I feel like it would be a blast and people would love it. Well–I’d love it anyway so I guess I don’t care whether people like it or not.

Do you think you’d let any one else sing lead on a song or would you want to sing the entire record?

Impersonating Robert Plant is a tall order. Dom can sing in some pretty high registers. I think he and I would have to duke it out for the job.

One response to “Month of May 8 of 30: Tony Kamel of Wood & Wire

  1. Pingback: 30 for 30: The Month of May | New Slang·

Leave a Reply

